It’s been a minute

I completely abandoned this space for more than a year now, but only because I’ve been all kinds of busy trying to be a person. Since fleeing this scene I was invited to write for a group blog called Our Thursday that has a ton of entertaining content including male POV dating stories, lists about insects, sports anecdotes and more. Through this I’ve had the pleasure of meeting some very interesting people, some of whom inspired me to give live storytelling a try, but as it turns out, I’m not a huge fan of the stage. For money, health insurance and sanity I work full time as a web producer for a daytime talk show where I write about nose jobs, hemorrhoids and new ways to die. On top of that I freelance as a food writer for KCET, which is delicious and fun and I just love it. Plus, I managed to finagle my first PRINT (totally still a thing) byline in Flaunt Magazine. Finally, I’m working on a novel that I plan to complete by December 1 and send out my first wave of queries by Christmas. Can’t wait for my very first rejection letter because that will mean I did it. I really did it. And that’s all I can ask for at this point. It’s a fictional story about culture clash, guilt and funnel cake. Some days I’m real pumped about it, others I feel like a cliche headed straight for failure, but I’ll never actually know until I try.

Aside from my professional doings, I traveled back to Sweden seven years after studying abroad there. I love that country with an unexplainable madness. The year 2012 has really smacked me upside the head, in both joyful and sorrowful ways. But that’s life, a coagulation of happiness and sadness, and you can’t have one without the other.